Front seats/Driving position - Volvo V40 Forums
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 65 (permalink) Old 19-01-2014, 10:45 AM Thread Starter

Front seats/Driving position

Hi all, first post here.

Had my D4L for couple of months now, love everything about the car -- style, handling, brains, the lot.

I drive heaps for work and spend at least three hours behind the wheel daily.

There's only one problem: my back is absolutely killing me. I don't know what it is about the seats or the driving position, but I get absolutely wrecked after couple of hours in it.

It got so bad that I started taking my old Saab 93 for longer trips. I have owned it for 4 years now and never had any problem with seats -- they are extremely comfy and suit my back just fine. I never appreciated how great they were until I swapped the cars.

At some point I got a chiropractic lumbar support pad for the seat, which helped a bit -- I can now drive for the required time, but I'm still far from enjoying it.

I absolutely love the car otherwise and would have to change it, but need to do something.

I know that seat comfort is very individual thing, but does anybody else had this problem? I heard that the R design seats are very nice, maybe I try to get the dealership to install them for me... How much that would cost and are they really that different?

Any insight is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 65 (permalink) Old 19-01-2014, 10:52 AM

I am always a bit worried when I get a new car as they give me a bad back also for a while, however the seats in my SE model are brilliant they are the comfiest I have ever sat in. Have you tried all the adjustments including tilting the seat base and the lumber support in the backrest? It maybe that you have just not got the adjustment right for you yet, if not keep trying as you'll love them when you get used to them.
post #3 of 65 (permalink) Old 19-01-2014, 04:25 PM

Driving Comfort