Volvo V40 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello V40 club!

Im pretty new to the volve-scene. Owning a 2014 V40 D4 since 4 weeks, with 155 th.km. on the clock, which i love! (see introduction page).

Im kind off a nitpicker, if it comes to vibrations. Reading all over the internet that the D4 is a very smooth diesel and is made to low-rev without problems. That its not a "typical diesel feel" So i found something:

when the engine is cold its a little shocky pulling away first times, no vibrations in low revs(under 2k), but thats fine after 5 mins or so when the engine gets to temperature.

In low revs the engine feels smooth(no tipical diesel vibrations) But when the engine gets hot after a 15/20 min drive the enginevibrations are getting realy feelable in the steering wheel, mainly in low revs. And the engine feels raw. But only when cruising or on throttle. When i let of throttle it feels very smooth and clean again.
Above 2k revs it is starting to feel better again. Vibrations a more noticible under 40mph(60kmh) in the steering wheel, also in the floor a bit, not to much in the seat. Under full load nothing weird. The car pulls fine and no stutter nor hesitations. In full load under 2 k u can realy feel te engine trough the steeringwheel.

Sometimes i get the idee when cruising 60mph on the highway the car feels between vibrate/smooth/vibrate etc.

Can an EGR software removal or ECU tune help getting rid of this?

Or this is normal behaviour of the D4?

Thanks, Joren

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G965F met Tapatalk

·
Registered
166 Posts
I have some vibrations too with my current D4. They weren't as pronounced with my previous D4's.
Don't think you can really diagnose this as it could have a 1000 different causes.
Most likely the flywheel or some engine part near or connected to the gearbox is slightly off balance.

And no, EGR or ECU modifications will not solve your problem.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3