Volvo V40 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am not a tire expert so I hope you can help me on this one.

I have a V40 Cross Country with Mefitis 7.5 x 18" wheels. The tires are 225/45 R18 as pictured here:

[/IMG]

It seems like the CC version of the V40 comes with these tires while the non CC version comes with 225/40R18 tires.

I was thinking on getting Midir 7.5J x 18" wheels which I'm hoping, by the way, that they look good.

I placed an order for these wheels to the dealer, but they said the wheels could only fit 225/40R18 tires and not the 225/45R18 tires, so I didn't get them.

I found another company that sells specifically Volvo wheels, and they claim that these same wheels can fit 225/45R18 tires as well.

My question is, who should I believe and why? Why can a wheel fit 225/40 but not 225/45's? :-/

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
591 Posts
Are the wheels & tyres on your car as supplied OEM?

225 x 45 x 18 is not same as mine and I doubt CC would have different gearing to non CC so I'm wondering if yours are right size?

225 x 45 x 18 = 659.7mm dia in laymans terms

225 x 45 x 17 = 634.5mm dia

So gearing and speedo would need to be different

Correct ratio for an 18" would surely be 40 at same width I.e.

225 x 40 x 18 = 637.2mm dia

So either tyre would fit on the rim it's just you would have two different OD's

·
Registered
591 Posts
Just configured a new CC on Volvo website and the do have larger OD than std as you state, so from what you stare the dealer has got it wrong as they clearly talking Std and not CC size

·
Registered
225 Posts