Volvo V40 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted to say thanks to you all who've posted here about the V40 - I read your comments several times while making my decision.

I'm a lease-car driver replacing a Qashqai in September. I've liked the Qashqai (mine's the economical 1.5 diesel, and the n-tec spec comes with LOTS of extras) but I don't need anything so big in future and also wanted to give myself something even more enjoyable.

So I've spent months looking over options, and have taken 8 or 10 test drives while looking for a car that makes me smile to drive it. I think my favourite for looks is still the Mazda 3 but it wasn't too much fun to drive and the economy isn't great (in the spec I wanted). My heart was also set on an Alfa Giulietta for a long while (and I still would like to own an Alfa some day) but the one that really made me happy was the V40. These things are so personal, so what I like will be horrible to the next guy, but to me it seems to take on the mission of the Golfs and A3s and somehow do it with the character that they've lost along the way. I love many VWs and Audis (A1 & A4? Brilliant) but those two cars are among the dullest in the ranges, even though they're good to drive.

Placed the order for the V40 3 days ago, can't wait for September delivery!

D3 SE Nav
Misty Blue
Blond Upholstery (yes, I am an 80's child, will try to resist rolling up jacket sleeves Miami Vice style)
  • Winter Illumination Pack
  • Driver Support Pack
  • Dark Tinted Windows
  • TFT Display
  • Autodimming Rear-View Mirror
  • Park Assist Pilot
  • Flexible Load Floor

I'm pretty ruthless with gadgets normally (don't like useless bling) but the way the TFT display integrates with the various driver's information stuff (ACC, etc) was impressive and useful, and also something I'd not seen done so well on any competitor.