Volvo V40 Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I am a newbie searching around for a 3-4year old V40. Ideally a D2 I think but if I can't find it will have to be a T2. Model preferred:- Momentum Nav Plus.
I have a couple of questions that I am hoping the more experienced V40 drivers on here can assist me with please?
1.I have looked at a couple at Non-Volvo dealers and the cars are usually being offered with what I would call a 3-6month mickey mouse general warranty that always have loads of exclusions of things not covered when things go wrong.
Now although I am handy with the spanners I am not familar with the V40 so my current thinking is that it would be wiser as a first time V40 buyer to go for a Volvo dealer and buy a car that comes with a Volvo Selekt 12month warranty?...Thoughts please? ...Am I being too cautious?
It's general electrics and tech issues that I suspect can get expensive that I am particularly concerned about?

2. T2 Fuel consumption....I know, again!
I have read numerous threads on here about this and the general consensus surprisingly seems to be that compared to other manufacturers with similar sized 2litre petrol engined cars is that the late model T2 is a thirsty beast and I will be lucky if I achieve better than 35-38 mpg in general motoring!
This is a bit frightening to me have owned BMW diesels in the past doing 50-55mpg. Yes I realise that a petrol car will be thirstier than a diesel but the problem is that D2's in Momentum spec seem like hens teeth so far in my search and I am just a bit nervous about the T2's fuel consumption.

All comments and thoughts very much appreciated.

Incidently just as an afterthought ...If you have a low mileage D2 Momentum Nav Plus that you are thinking of selling that may just solve some of my concerns!

Alan.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Petrol engines are pretty thirsty for short runs but decent on longer journeys.