Volvo V40 Forums banner

Can't decide on V40 or Golf 7 and confused about spec, please help

42K views 41 replies 17 participants last post by  55282 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi, I am a UK lease car driver due for a new car at the end of Sept. I am torn between the golf and the V40. I would be keen to know if anyone else considered the Golf and why they chose the V40.

I have driven both cars on extended test drives and both have their strengths. I have been back to the showroom today and looked at both again.

I do love the quality feel of the Volvo cabin and think I am going to go for it rather than the Golf. I am confused about specification however.

I would be ordering the R design Lux. I understand it has the full leather seats rather than the T tec offered in the standard R design and that it has rain sensing wipers and (Adaptive?) cruise control. I am unclear as to whether it has the theatre lighting, can someone confirm this? Does it also have xenon headlights or are these optional? Are there any other things added above the standard R design?

Can you also tell me if the premium sound pack is worth the additional money in terms of music quality over the standard high performance system?

One thing that does seem unfair is that the heated seats are an optional extra.

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Matt

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi

Have a look here for the full specs.

I must admit I was deeply impressed with High performance audio system but I haven't had a back to back listening test with the standard system so I can say how much better it is.

#5 ·
Aesthetically there's no comparison in my mind (or my wife's!), the V40 R-Design is a stunning looking car, and the handling/comfort are simply excellent.

We didn't look at the Golf in all honesty, I think we did a website spec-up and found it lacking and, well, a bit dull in all honesty! Ours (OK, my wife's!) is due *fingers crossed* within the next two weeks, can't wait!

#6 ·
same