Volvo V40 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here - I drive a Golf GT 1.4 TSI DSG and am strongly considering getting the V40 D2 SE Powershift. However I only drive about 9,000 miles per year. I looked at the Petrol alternatives, but they are far more expensive than the Diesel models (5K more)!

My commute is only 10 mins each way (motorway) with longer trips on weekends. Should I be concerned about the DPF in the diesel motor? I read the V40 has a different DPF spec than other cars which doesn't need as much heat to recover. Is this true?

I found that BuyACar.co.uk has offers of almost 4,000 Pounds discount on the V40. Does anyone have any experience with them?

Thanks! :sleepy:

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hi Slo, cant answer your question, but keen to know why you want to swap Golf for Volvo? I am currently undecided between these two cars for my next lease. I would be interested to know what you think the Volvo will give you that the Golf doesn't. Have you test driven the V40 yet?

I drove the D3, not the D2, but loved the 5 cylinder motor. I also test drove the 1.4 Golf with ACT which is also a cracking engine, but very different from the Volvo.

·
Registered
214 Posts
You should make some calculations between diesel and petrol costs.
Like fuel price, service prices and so on.. There are also some site where you can calculate the tipping point petrol and diesel.

Good luck with that..

I think for the diesel engine it would be not good that short distances you drive..
But that's my opinion off course.

·
Registered
196 Posts
We were advised to ensure the D2 gets a good 30min + run every week or so to clear the DPF through, if your weekend runs will do this then I'd not be worried.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5