Volvo V40 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I’m going to look at a 16 plate t3 r design 51,000 miles on Saturday.but after checking mpg people are getting im starting to worry a bit.its a manual I’m retired 67 and was surprised they do nowhere near the mpg Volvo claim.im a steady driver because I’m one of the poor old pensioners.i will only be rich after I’m dead and the kids can sell the house. Anyone got this model and can reassure me please

·
Registered
62 Posts
a family member has the t3 engine, dont think its an R design, manual box, he says its good for 500-550 miles on a tank, for the size of car it doesnt do much in traffic...

·
Registered
14 Posts
a 16 might be the Ford Ecoboost engine.
If you kick th epedal seriously its going to 26 mpg

Volvo will probably say 36 mpg?
think 31 wil be more realistic.

i have a T4, same engine, city it varies between those nrs, T3 does better than a T4 for your usage

·
Registered
416 Posts
I have a T3, in London city with medium traffic, I can get around 30mpg, if the traffic gets lighter, around 35mpg. Travelling on 40-50mph A roads for at least 5-6 miles, I can get around the 50mpg or slightly more mark, on motorway speeds around 70mph, you should be able to get almost 50mpg on run.
From Bicester Village to East London (A41 to A406 to A12) I got 50mpg at the speed limits, and once I went from Stansted to my place on the side of the A12 in east London, and got 52mpg! My highest ever was 55.8mpg on 40-50mph roads for miles, lowest was around 15mpg on heavy start stop London rush hour traffic. I guess to get high mpgs, you should change gear around or just above the 2k rpm mark.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Mine is a 2018 T3 manual and it averages about 40mpg on my usage. The MPG range is 30-50 depending on driving conditions.

It's not as economical as some other cars with similar performance (such as the 1.4 or 1.5 VW engine) but it's OK.

·
Registered
55 Posts