Volvo V40 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I'm a young driver on my P Plates (Australian Provisional Licence) who has just acquired a MY14 Volvo V40 T5 R-Design in perfect condition. I'm new to this club and forum so I thought instead of searching through heaps of articles I'd start one so that I can get some direct guidance on my new car, hope that is okay.
I'm a big car enthusiast so I have good knowledge of modifications in general but I've found it kinda hard to find info on what I can actually do to my car.
Since its an older T5 it has the 2.5l, 5 cyl turbo, so I know there isn't a lot I can legally do performance wise given my licence restrictions. But was wondering if there are any subtle performance mods I can do that might be legal while not making the car exempt from any sort of Volvo warranty?
Was also wondering what sort of less expensive bodywork mods I can do to the car that won't break my bank account (I assume most mods for this car in general are not cheap at all)?
I definitely am considering some sort of exhaust mod or whether that be a full system or aftermarket muffler cause I'm in love with the way this car sings. I'd love to find some nicer rims as well so that's also on my list for the future, suspension upgrade would be awesome but again I'm not sure what implications this might have.

I'm purely just curious on what I can really do with this car as I intend on keeping it for a long time. So any sort of advice, guidance or info given would be very much appreciated! :)

·
Registered
514 Posts
Not being sure of what modifications a P plate allows (being in the UK, where you can modify a car pretty much how you want)

But you may be able to get the official Polestar remap from Volvo themselves - that would give you a few more bhp. (and it is Volvo approved so won't affect Volvo warranty)

You could look at the rear spoiler Volvo made a few different variations.